The air was warm, the sun beaming down, and as I looked to the sky, I knew my sisters and brothers across the globe were dancing with me.

There are few moments in time when words escape me; when I can’t quite encapsulate how something made me feel. But the events of February 14, 2013 was one of those rare times.

In 205 countries, from cities across the United States to the Democratic Republic of Congo, Sudan, Brazil, New Zealand, the Phillipines, Taiwan, India, and South Africa, Eve Ensler’s movement, One Billion Rising, brought men, women, and children to the streets to call on societies, governments, and individuals to finally put a stop to violence against women.

I attended the One Billion Rising event at San Francisco City Hall. As I approached, I was almost unaware of my surroundings; I just wanted to be a part of this movement…

View original post 708 more words

Leave a Reply

