We Are One

It can happen anywhere at anytime with anyone and everyone. It’s free. No corporation can control it. It joins us and pushes us to go further. It’s contagious and it spreads quickly. It’s of the body. It’s transcendent.

– Eve Ensler on V-Day’s campaign, One Billion Rising

One Billion Rising Logo. Download it here, in multiple languages: http://onebillionrising.org/pages/one-billion-rising-logos

As most of you likely know, I moved across the country last month; turns out that’s a feat that takes a lot of planning (especially for my furry feline friend). As I get settled into my new home, I am finally able to turn my attention back to 4WomenWorldwide and the most important message I want to send is this:

We Are One.

While I get acclimated to a new culture and coast (one that is, I must say, more friendly than that from which I came), I believe that this is the most important tenet to remember. As the race to the White House heats up, the rhetoric thick with skewed perspectives, women’s rights in this country are under attack on a level I have never seen. But we must not forget our sisters and brothers across the globe who are fighting the same, and in many cases more atrocious, fight.

But the beauty in all of this is that we have the power to do something.

First, we must acknowledge the terrifying realities of the plight women are facing everyday, both here and abroad. And we must raise our voices together, united to demand something that we have yet to see:

An end to violence against women.

Eve Ensler’s organization, V-Day, is organizing a campaign, One Billion Rising, that aims to finally put a stop to violence against women. Here’s why:

  • ONE IN THREE WOMEN ON THE PLANET WILL BE RAPED OR BEATEN IN HER LIFETIME.
  • ONE BILLION WOMEN VIOLATED IS AN ATROCITY
  • ONE BILLION WOMEN DANCING IS A REVOLUTION

We are “One Billion Rising.” We are rising, dancing, singing, protesting against the violations that women face around the globe. From the United States to the Democratic Republic of Congo, to Columbia, Peru, Afghanistan, Australia. The violence must stop. And women and men are demanding it in a new way.

What will this look like?

Eve Ensler and South African filmmaker, Tony Stroebel, put together a powerful short film. You can watch it here:

One February 14, 2013, women around the globe will rise in protest and in solidarity against the atrocities women and girls face around the globe. As V-Day puts it, “one billion women dancing is a revolution.”

And a revolution is precisely what we need. I have been in awe of Eve Ensler and her work for years, but her brilliance is illuminated in this latest call to action. Why, you may ask?

Because it’s easy and it demands that each of us rise as one, with one voice, and one purpose. Perhaps the most amazing piece of it all is that it isn’t simply a meeting of the minds, designed to “find the solution” that we so often look for. It is simple and beautiful. It is a time when women and men will stand to revolt against these realities in a peaceful and productive way. We will stand and say, through song, dance, and the power of one voice, that we have had enough.

Even as a women’s rights advocate, I sometimes find myself speechless at the stories I read, utterly dumbfounded that the world can be so cruel. As Ms. Ensler has said so eloquently, I am “over it.”

So Am I.

I am over women feeling unsafe in their own homes.

I am over women feeling unsafe on the streets.

I am over rape culture.

I am over victim blaming.

I am over mass rapes in conflict.

I am over the world’s indifference towards violence against women.

This is your chance to tell the world: What are you over?

Even if you can’t make it to a Rising, spread the word. There is no one solution that will stop violence against women – it is unique to country, state, city, county, and individual.

We all have our own stories to tell – but now we also have a chance to rise as one and demand an end to these atrocities. To dance and sing for ourselves, for our loved ones, and those we have never, and may never, meet.

To find a One Billion Rising location near you, click here.

And, as always, spread the word.

One thought on “We Are One

  1. Pingback: Tomorrow, We Rise! « 4WomenWorldwide

Leave a Reply

