Who Inspires You?

On this International Women’s Day, I want to know who inspires you?

One of my law professors said recently in a lecture, “no rights are worth it unless you are safe when you exercise them.” Though this was on an unrelated topic, the universal veracity of the statement touched me deeply.

IWD 2011

March 8th is International Women’s Day (IWD) and this year is a particularly important landmark as the event is commemorating its 100th anniversary. The first IWD was held in Austria, Germany, Switzerland, and Denmark on March 19, 1911. At that time in history, men and women stood side by side to rally for women’s right to vote, work, hold public office, and be free from discrimination.

Courtesy of Internationalwomensday.com

We have without a doubt seen vast changes in the landscape since the days when women did not have the right to work or vote. But domestically and across international borders, women are still fighting every day for what should be guaranteed rights. And even in countries where women may legally have a right, they are not necessarily safe when they exercise them.

This year, the IWD theme is equal access to education, training, and science and technology as a “pathway to decent work for women.” It is a social tenet that education changes the face of poverty and keeping children, especially girls, in school can transform villages. For more information on the IWD theme click here.

CARE and IWD

Tomorrow, I will attend the CARE Conference in Washington, D.C. – an event I look forward to every year. The organization aligned its National Conference with International Women’s Day as a way to commemorate the important 100th anniversary.

While I wait in anticipation for tomorrow, I am reflecting on all of the women I know personally and those whose stories I’ve heard through CARE and other organizations who exhibit more courage and tenacity than I knew was possible.  I am sure to hear another tomorrow and I will honor her story on 4WomenWorldwide.

But until then, I am wondering and please comment below, who inspires you?

9 thoughts on “Who Inspires You?

  1. Post some pictures and updates for tomorrow’s conference for all of us remote observers. 😉 Love the post! I’m happy that I celebrate today with many smart, enlightened and amazing women like you I call my friends and sisters.

  2. Still, and always, Amelia… Not that she overcame any tremendous adversity – just because she did as she pleased and died doing what she loved. But I am writing to expand on your professors message… I wouldnt say that a right isnt worth it if you aren’t safe when you exercise it – I would say that no right is really yours if you can’t exercise it safely. A law that is not protected or enforced is worth no more than the market price for a paper airplane.

    • Thanks for the comment! And you’re right – a right certainly isn’t yours if you aren’t safe when exercising it. Here’s to making these rights enforced protections for women.

  3. Anyone who works to bring betterment to another’s life inspires me (including YOU). When we lift another, we lift all in some way and find more light ourselves.

  4. Pingback: 4WomenWorldwide

Leave a Reply

